Posted on Aug 26, 2013
The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDot) is urging drivers to once again be mindful of school buses and students along roadways in the area. side from the potential for tragedy that arises when drivers get careless around stopping buses and busy student pick-up and drop-off locations, heavy penalties are also in place.
According to the state's laws regarding stopped school buses, drivers must stop at least 10 feet in both directions from a bus stopped with its red lights flashing and stop sign extended. Only when traffic on the opposite side of the road from a stopped bus is clearly separated by a median or barrier, such as on a highway, can traffic in the opposite direction move past a bus with its stop equipment activated, according to state law.
Drivers found in violation of the stopped school bus law can receive a $250 fine, five points on their record and up to a 60 day license suspension, according to the law.
Speeds not to exceed 15 mph must be maintained in clearly marked school zones to maintain student and driver safety, according to Pennsylvania Department of Transportation. Another fine and a three-point penalty are in store for drivers who ignore school zone laws.
For additional information, drivers are urged to consult the school bus safety center on the department of transportation's traffic safety information website.
If you or a loved one are seriously injured in a Pa. bus accident, contact an experienced Harrisburg bus accident lawyer at Schmidt Kramer to discuss your case, especially if distracted driving was the cause.
We can answer any questions or concerns you have about a Central Pennsylvania bus accident in Carlisle, Harrisburg, Camp Hill, Hershey, Shippensburg and all of Central Pennsylvania.
The toll-free number is (717) 888-8888 or 717-888-8888 and the case evaluation is free. Alternatively, you may wish to download a free copy of our book Who Pays the Bills When You Are Injured in an Automobile Accident? for additional information.