The Pennsylvania Insurance Department website has a lot of important information on different areas of Pennsylvania insurance. This includes motor vehicle insurance and reminders that it is mandatory in Pennsylvania.
Pennsylvania law mandates that drivers purchase and maintain car insurance in order to legally drive in Pennsylvania. This is called maintaining “financial responsibility” and any lapse in insurance coverage may result in the suspension of your vehicle registration privilege for three months, unless the lapse of insurance was for a period of less than 31 days and the owner or registrant proves to the Department of Transportation (PennDOT) that the vehicle was not operated during this short lapse in coverage.
If PennDOT determines that you operated your vehicle without the required insurance, your driver’s license may be suspended for three months. Also, your car’s license plate, registration sticker and driver’s license must be surrendered to PennDOT in order to serve the suspension. Restoration fees and proof of insurance must be submitted prior to having either registration or driving privileges returned.
If you are stopped for a moving violation and it is determined that you are operating your vehicle without insurance, you could face the following penalties and expenses:
- A minimum of $300 fine for driving uninsured
- A three-month suspension of your vehicle registration
- A three-month suspension of your driver’s license
- Restoration fees to restore your vehicle registration
- Vehicle impoundment
In addition, your vehicle may not be driven by anyone while the registration is suspended. Go to the Pennsylvania Insurance Department website for more information.
If you or a loved one are seriously injured in a Pennsylvania car accident, contact an experienced Harrisburg car accident lawyer at Schmidt Kramer to discuss your case, especially if distracted driving was the cause. We can answer any questions or concerns you have about a Central Pennsylvania car accident in Carlisle, Harrisburg, Camp Hill, Hershey, Shippensburg and all of Central Pennsylvania.
The toll-free number is 888-476-0807 or 717-888-8888 and the case evaluation is free. Alternatively, you may wish to download a free copy of our book Who Pays the Bills When You Are Injured in an Automobile Accident? for additional information.